What programming environments are you using?
Moderator: Moderators
Re: What programming environments are you using?
i dont even use the symbol features, although i know the vice monitor very well, and i am using ca65 and acme (which can spit out symbol files easily). an inc bordercolor here and there is all i need. singlestepping is so... meh =P
I'm just a Software Guy who has no Idea how the Hardware works. Don't listen to me.
Re: What programming environments are you using?
After many years as a DASM aficionado I have now switched to KickAssembler, which rather neatly generates VICE symbols automatically. I also finally invested a good chunk of time in getting my head around WUDSN and Eclipse, which has resulted in me switching fully from N++/DASM to WUDSN/Kick.
In the process I found a bug in WUDSN regarding writing the output file to a relative subfolder of the project (it doesn't realise where the output file has gone and halts with an error) but have not been able to find a contact email for the author to report it.
However, I did report a bug I also found in VICE - symbols for zero-page locations were not being referenced by the disassemble command. That has now been fixed in the nightly builds (from r28490 onwards).
In the process I found a bug in WUDSN regarding writing the output file to a relative subfolder of the project (it doesn't realise where the output file has gone and halts with an error) but have not been able to find a contact email for the author to report it.
However, I did report a bug I also found in VICE - symbols for zero-page locations were not being referenced by the disassemble command. That has now been fixed in the nightly builds (from r28490 onwards).
Re: What programming environments are you using?
[quote="rhurst]
[youtube]QX9NkF0Tc9E[/youtube]
So if you ask me, you're all soft.
[/quote]
Hahahahahahahaha
Sent from my iPhone 6 Beta using Tapatalk
[youtube]QX9NkF0Tc9E[/youtube]
So if you ask me, you're all soft.

Hahahahahahahaha
Sent from my iPhone 6 Beta using Tapatalk
-
- Vic 20 Dabbler
- Posts: 78
- Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 3:41 am
Re: What programming environments are you using?
I'm a big fan of CBM prg Studio, but use other tools such as Notepad++ and others.
Regards,
Shaun.
Regards,
Shaun.
Without context, we are only data.
Re: What programming environments are you using?
Might have found a bug in Kick. Reported it today.
This is failing inside the 'else' block with an error about the first '.import' directive (which works fine outside the block) saying 'source' is invalid.
Code: Select all
.eval makecart = true // Conditional assembly trigger - override for cartridge
.import source "opcodes.asm" // Undocumented opcode pseudocommands
.import source "storage.asm" // FAST-40 memory definitions
.import source "memorymap.asm" // VIC-20 memory definitions
.if (makecart) {
.pc = $a000 // Cartridge origin assembly point
.text "A0" // Cartridge autostart signature (A0CBM)
.byte $C3,$C2,$CD
.word init40 // Cartridge cold start vector
.word init40 // Cartridge warm start vector
}
else {
.import source "basicstub.asm" // BASIC stub macro
stub: :BASICStub(8,"blah") // BASIC stub definition
.import source "relocate.asm" // Relocation logic
}
- Mike
- Herr VC
- Posts: 5134
- Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 1:57 pm
- Location: Munich, Germany
- Occupation: electrical engineer
Re: What programming environments are you using?
I know this is unrelated to your problem with KickAssembler, but I'd like to point out, that the autostart cartridge header first contains the two vectors for reset and NMI in $A000 .. $A003, and then follows the "A0CBM" signature.FD22 wrote:Code: Select all
.if (makecart) { .pc = $a000 // Cartridge origin assembly point .text "A0" // Cartridge autostart signature (A0CBM) .byte $C3,$C2,$CD .word init40 // Cartridge cold start vector .word init40 // Cartridge warm start vector }
Re: What programming environments are you using?
Copypaste typo whilst extracting the code snippet. Wanted to demonstrate that other directives work OK inside the if-block, it's just '.import source' that has a problem.
Re: What programming environments are you using?
kickass sucks like that - including another source doesnt work inside a block. the suggested (imho very ugly) workaround looks like this:This is failing inside the 'else' block with an error about the first '.import' directive (which works fine outside the block) saying 'source' is invalid.
Code: Select all
.import source cmdLineVars.get("tune") == "0" ? "default/scrolltext1.asm" : "empty.asm"
.import source cmdLineVars.get("tune") == "1" ? "default/scrolltext2.asm" : "empty.asm"
I'm just a Software Guy who has no Idea how the Hardware works. Don't listen to me.
Re: What programming environments are you using?
'Way back when' I coded most of Frogger '07 on a real Vic using Hes Mon -- *
however, it was a stupid approach and I had to finish it using DASM and gVim as the editor. I've used CA65/CC65 too but find DASM 'good enough' for my purposes and feel comfortable with it.
*You're all soft..
however, it was a stupid approach and I had to finish it using DASM and gVim as the editor. I've used CA65/CC65 too but find DASM 'good enough' for my purposes and feel comfortable with it.
*You're all soft..
3^4 is 81.0000001
Re: What programming environments are you using?
Back in 2007, when I was an active VIC-20 developer, I wrote a custom language that was a mix between assembler and visual basic (or quick basic). It really made the difference for me, indeed it was very easy to write "Tetris", "Pong" (with nbla000) and "Return to Fort Knox".
To my disappointment, I never managed to make a polished product out of it, so it remains an "internal tool".
To my disappointment, I never managed to make a polished product out of it, so it remains an "internal tool".

- majikeyric
- Vic 20 Afficionado
- Posts: 354
- Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2014 2:08 pm
- Website: http://majikeyric.free.fr
- Location: France
Re: What programming environments are you using?
I use UltraEdit Studio, Acme and VICE.
If I need some small tools for data manipulation, I develop them in PureBasic.
If I need some small tools for data manipulation, I develop them in PureBasic.
Re: What programming environments are you using?
I use Emacs, xa and a shell. I test with VICE before burning to EPROM using topwin6 in a WinXP VM under VirtualBox.