Austro-Compiler on VICE

You need an actual VIC.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
jalavera
Vic 20 Drifter
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 4:49 am

Austro-Compiler on VICE

Post by jalavera »

Hi!!

This is my first post so be patient with me...
I want to use Austro-Comp on VICE Emulator. For this poupose I have an old CBM BASIC program attached to drive #8 and 'Austro-Compiler' running
I select my BASIC program on the disk then the compiler after a few seconds of compilling shows me '0 OK'
I'm supposing that all process went ok but my question is: 'How can I save and after reload my compiled program?' Must I have to save to disk, tape or whatelse, how?
Many thanks in advance
Those VIC20 times were fantastic, now, with VICE and forums like this we can remember such as we were in early 80s... :)
User avatar
Diddl
Vic 20 Afficionado
Posts: 426
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 3:18 am
Website: https://oe7twj.at/
Location: Austria
Occupation: software engineer

Post by Diddl »

Normally Austrocomp doesn't need to save compiled program. It compiles a BASIC program and creates compiled program on disk.

Is this disk (the d64 image) write protected?
Last edited by Diddl on Wed Aug 05, 2009 5:44 am, edited 1 time in total.
Boray
Musical Smurf
Posts: 4064
Joined: Mon May 03, 2004 10:47 am

Post by Boray »

You will find the compiled program on the disk. I think i'ts called "c/name.prg" or something like that. If it doesn't work, then try to turn on "true drive emulation".
PRG Starter - a VICE helper / Vic Software (Boray Gammon, SD2IEC music player, Vic Disk Menu, Tribbles, Mega Omega, How Many 8K etc.)
jalavera
Vic 20 Drifter
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 4:49 am

Post by jalavera »

Thanks!

Austrocomp saves onto d64 diskimage with "C/progname" with no problems!

I see that Austrocomp compiled programs needs at least an 8Kb expansion. Is there any BASIC compiler which allows to use compiled programs with non-expanded VIC?

Is there any software (in VIC or PC) to rename these new compiled programs in the disk or disk image. For instance, C/MYPROG to somewhat else in the same disk (in VICE) or image (external PC software)?

What's the CBM BASIC command to report the content of a disk (such as DIR in MSDOS)?

Is there any software (in VIC or PC) to convert those compiled programs from the disk to PRG or TAP files?

Thanks again!!
Boray
Musical Smurf
Posts: 4064
Joined: Mon May 03, 2004 10:47 am

Post by Boray »

jalavera wrote: Is there any software (in VIC or PC) to rename these new compiled programs in the disk or disk image. For instance, C/MYPROG to somewhat else in the same disk (in VICE) or image (external PC software)?
OPEN 1,8,15,"R:New_Name=Old_Name":CLOSE 1
jalavera wrote: What's the CBM BASIC command to report the content of a disk (such as DIR in MSDOS)?
LOAD"$",8
LIST

(Replaces the program in memory with a file list)


http://www.c64-wiki.com/index.php/VC-1541

http://user.tninet.se/~pug510w/datormuseum/vicmenu.html
PRG Starter - a VICE helper / Vic Software (Boray Gammon, SD2IEC music player, Vic Disk Menu, Tribbles, Mega Omega, How Many 8K etc.)
carlsson
Class of '6502
Posts: 5516
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 1:41 am

Post by carlsson »

jalavera wrote:Is there any BASIC compiler which allows to use compiled programs with non-expanded VIC?
There is something known as Vic Compiler. It has been mentioned here before, but I think it is hard to use.

I think the +8K requirement for Austrocomp is due to it includes a runtime library rather than calling the Basic ROM routines directly. Certainly it gets faster that way, otherwise only the command parser would be the one which is compiled.

I read you have old Basic programs you want to compile. If you make new programs, I would recommend you to try C and use either of the two cross compilers: cc65 or Quetzacoatl. Those can generate executables for unexpanded VIC-20, although at least cc65 has quite a big runtime library as well so you barely get to fit HELLO WORLD into 3.5K.
Anders Carlsson

Image Image Image Image Image
jalavera
Vic 20 Drifter
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 4:49 am

Post by jalavera »

Thanks!

...and what about on how to save these compiled files to tape or to tap/prg file?
User avatar
Mike
Herr VC
Posts: 5134
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 1:57 pm
Location: Munich, Germany
Occupation: electrical engineer

Post by Mike »

jalavera
Vic 20 Drifter
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 4:49 am

Post by jalavera »

Thanks. Now I see that "SAVE" command also saves binary memory content, not only BASIC program.
User avatar
Mike
Herr VC
Posts: 5134
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 1:57 pm
Location: Munich, Germany
Occupation: electrical engineer

Post by Mike »

jalavera wrote:Thanks. Now I see that "SAVE" command also saves binary memory content, not only BASIC program.
Not quite correct. Austro Comp just happens to provide the compiled program in a way that it can be loaded, and saved like a normal BASIC program.

When you do a LIST, you'll see a line listed such as:

Code: Select all

XXXX SYS 41XX
which, when RUN, will start the ML program located immediately behind that line in memory.

The pointer to the end of the program is manipulated for this, so that not only that line is saved, but also the trailing ML code section.
Post Reply