VICE Build and Mods
Moderator: Moderators
- Radical Brad
- Vic 20 Devotee
- Posts: 256
- Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2017 8:18 pm
- Website: http://www.AtomicZombie.com
- Location: Kakabeka Falls, ONT
- Occupation: hACKER
VICE Build and Mods
Has anyone here ever built a windows binary from the VICE sources?
I ask becasue I am considering a mod, and there is no point digging it if it has been done before.
What I want is to capture the 10 bit address and data seen as IO2, and stream it realtime to a serial port at 2mbs.
Data would simply stream as 18 bits on the transition of IO2.
The reason for this mod is so that I do not need to keep my real VIC on for the many hours of development time I am putting into a current project.
Right now I have made a VIC-20 "simulator" in an AVR to get me by, but now it'a time to move back to the VIC-20 platform.
Perhaps there is some function to actually capture IO from VICE (with no loss) already?
I did not find anything in the manual that would do what I need.
It would even be ok if VIC ran much slower, as long as IO data is not lost, and is cycle acurate.
Thanks,
Brad
I ask becasue I am considering a mod, and there is no point digging it if it has been done before.
What I want is to capture the 10 bit address and data seen as IO2, and stream it realtime to a serial port at 2mbs.
Data would simply stream as 18 bits on the transition of IO2.
The reason for this mod is so that I do not need to keep my real VIC on for the many hours of development time I am putting into a current project.
Right now I have made a VIC-20 "simulator" in an AVR to get me by, but now it'a time to move back to the VIC-20 platform.
Perhaps there is some function to actually capture IO from VICE (with no loss) already?
I did not find anything in the manual that would do what I need.
It would even be ok if VIC ran much slower, as long as IO data is not lost, and is cycle acurate.
Thanks,
Brad
Re: VICE Build and Mods
sure sure. look in doc/building/ for instructions
however, what you want to do there sounds like it wont work - the emulation is only ever cycle exact inside the emulator itself. its in no way "realtime" or "cycle exact" related to the outside world, the timing you'll get from this would be completely random and unpredictable.
what exactly do you want to test with it anyway? perhaps there is a better way
however, what you want to do there sounds like it wont work - the emulation is only ever cycle exact inside the emulator itself. its in no way "realtime" or "cycle exact" related to the outside world, the timing you'll get from this would be completely random and unpredictable.
what exactly do you want to test with it anyway? perhaps there is a better way

I'm just a Software Guy who has no Idea how the Hardware works. Don't listen to me.
Re: VICE Build and Mods
Building the latest for GTK3 on Linux doesn't work for me. libgtk-3-dev has been installed but it wants "GTK3 support packages". Whatever that is supposed to be, it's not in the docs.
Code: Select all
$ ./configure --enable-native-gtk3ui
option checking is yes
checking for a BSD-compatible install... /usr/bin/install -c
checking whether build environment is sane... yes
checking for a thread-safe mkdir -p... /bin/mkdir -p
checking for gawk... gawk
checking whether make sets $(MAKE)... yes
checking whether make supports nested variables... yes
checking build system type... x86_64-pc-linux-gnu
checking host system type... x86_64-pc-linux-gnu
checking for gcc... gcc
checking whether the C compiler works... yes
checking for C compiler default output file name... a.out
checking for suffix of executables...
checking whether we are cross compiling... no
checking for suffix of object files... o
checking whether we are using the GNU C compiler... yes
checking whether gcc accepts -g... yes
checking for gcc option to accept ISO C89... none needed
checking whether gcc understands -c and -o together... yes
checking for style of include used by make... GNU
checking dependency style of gcc... gcc3
checking for ld used by GCC... /usr/bin/ld
checking if the linker (/usr/bin/ld) is GNU ld... yes
checking for objdump... objdump
checking for pkg-config... /usr/bin/pkg-config
checking pkg-config is at least version 0.9.0... yes
checking for GTK... no
checking for GLIB... yes
configure: error: GTK3 UI requested, but GTK3 support packages are missing
A man without talent or ambition is most easily pleased. Others set his path and he is content.
https://github.com/SvenMichaelKlose
https://github.com/SvenMichaelKlose
- Gorf
- Vic 20 Dabbler
- Posts: 92
- Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2016 6:55 pm
- Website: http://home.macintosh.garden/~europa/
- Location: United States
- Occupation: Eccentric Musician
Re: VICE Build and Mods
Ok, so it's not just my system. Thanks for the info!pixel wrote:Building the latest for GTK3 on Linux doesn't work for me. libgtk-3-dev has been installed but it wants "GTK3 support packages". Whatever that is supposed to be, it's not in the docs.

I do wish the docs elaborated a bit more on what the user needs.
She/Her
SoundCloud: https://soundcloud.com/user-385492180
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC3uSQ5 ... AJkFHzReqw
SoundCloud: https://soundcloud.com/user-385492180
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC3uSQ5 ... AJkFHzReqw
Re: VICE Build and Mods
you should post a bug report on sourceforge, which includes the configure.log - my guess would be its either a wrong gtk3 version (3.22 is required) or package-config doesnt work as at it should. or it could be something completely different
in any case, you dont need any other gtk3 packages 


I'm just a Software Guy who has no Idea how the Hardware works. Don't listen to me.
Re: VICE Build and Mods
Thanks. Installed apt-show-versions and there's the problem: got version 3.18.9
– should have crossed my mind last night. m(

A man without talent or ambition is most easily pleased. Others set his path and he is content.
https://github.com/SvenMichaelKlose
https://github.com/SvenMichaelKlose
Re: VICE Build and Mods
you can hack it to make it "work":
$ grep -n "3.22" ./configure.proto
307: PKG_CHECK_MODULES(GTK, [gtk+-3.0 >= 3.22], [have_gtk3_module=yes], [have_gtk3_module=no; AC_MSG_RESULT([no])])
change that to 3.18
now configure should complete. after that compile, compilation will fail at one or two places. just comment out the offending lines and try again. (obviously you loose some functionality, but nothing too serious)
however, you should consider upgrading to 3.22 anyway
$ grep -n "3.22" ./configure.proto
307: PKG_CHECK_MODULES(GTK, [gtk+-3.0 >= 3.22], [have_gtk3_module=yes], [have_gtk3_module=no; AC_MSG_RESULT([no])])
change that to 3.18
now configure should complete. after that compile, compilation will fail at one or two places. just comment out the offending lines and try again. (obviously you loose some functionality, but nothing too serious)
however, you should consider upgrading to 3.22 anyway

I'm just a Software Guy who has no Idea how the Hardware works. Don't listen to me.
Re: VICE Build and Mods
OK, folks. It takes Linux Mint/*untu 19, so ye won't break nothing. That's how it goes (on 18.3):
If that bollocksed your system, timeshift will bring you back:
Good luck! 
Code: Select all
# The updater wants you to make a system snapshot first. Takes ~10min with an SSD.
sudo apt install timeshift # Require by mintupgrade.
sudo timeshift --create --comments "before upgrade"
sudo apt install mintupgrade
sudo apt purge mdm # IF you have MDM installed, you'd have to replace it with LightDM.
sudo apt install lightdm
mintupgrade check # Always say "yes, I'm older than 17 and agree to everything". NOT as root.
mintupgrade download # This is where you might get a kill-yourself mobile phone bill (1.9GB here).
mintupgrade upgrade
Code: Select all
sudo timeshift --restore

A man without talent or ambition is most easily pleased. Others set his path and he is content.
https://github.com/SvenMichaelKlose
https://github.com/SvenMichaelKlose
- Gorf
- Vic 20 Dabbler
- Posts: 92
- Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2016 6:55 pm
- Website: http://home.macintosh.garden/~europa/
- Location: United States
- Occupation: Eccentric Musician
Re: VICE Build and Mods
So I run this in Linux Mint and there I compile the packages? 

She/Her
SoundCloud: https://soundcloud.com/user-385492180
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC3uSQ5 ... AJkFHzReqw
SoundCloud: https://soundcloud.com/user-385492180
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC3uSQ5 ... AJkFHzReqw
Re: VICE Build and Mods
After upgrading this way to Linux Mint 19 you should be able to compile VICE.Gorf wrote:So I run this in Linux Mint and there I compile the packages?
A man without talent or ambition is most easily pleased. Others set his path and he is content.
https://github.com/SvenMichaelKlose
https://github.com/SvenMichaelKlose
Re: VICE Build and Mods
Please let me stress the point that making a backup of your stuff beforehand is essential to well-being. 

A man without talent or ambition is most easily pleased. Others set his path and he is content.
https://github.com/SvenMichaelKlose
https://github.com/SvenMichaelKlose
Re: VICE Build and Mods
pfff no risk no fun 

I'm just a Software Guy who has no Idea how the Hardware works. Don't listen to me.
- Gorf
- Vic 20 Dabbler
- Posts: 92
- Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2016 6:55 pm
- Website: http://home.macintosh.garden/~europa/
- Location: United States
- Occupation: Eccentric Musician
Re: VICE Build and Mods
Ok, thanks!pixel wrote:After upgrading this way to Linux Mint 19 you should be able to compile VICE.

Risk is fun when there is not any true risk involved

She/Her
SoundCloud: https://soundcloud.com/user-385492180
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC3uSQ5 ... AJkFHzReqw
SoundCloud: https://soundcloud.com/user-385492180
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC3uSQ5 ... AJkFHzReqw
Re: VICE Build and Mods
Had to pack things in a rush to get a long-distance bus, then had to reinstall everything on my laptop. Upgrade didn't work on the desktop machine, so that'd be another reinstall.... why not? At least I'll get rid of the trash left by three earlier Linux Mint versions.
But that's NOT fun!
But that's NOT fun!

A man without talent or ambition is most easily pleased. Others set his path and he is content.
https://github.com/SvenMichaelKlose
https://github.com/SvenMichaelKlose
- Gorf
- Vic 20 Dabbler
- Posts: 92
- Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2016 6:55 pm
- Website: http://home.macintosh.garden/~europa/
- Location: United States
- Occupation: Eccentric Musician
Re: VICE Build and Mods
I can attest to that! I'll need to install a Linux Mint on a VM, but as soon as I do that, I'll report my results!pixel wrote:Had to pack things in a rush to get a long-distance bus, then had to reinstall everything on my laptop. Upgrade didn't work on the desktop machine, so that'd be another reinstall.... why not? At least I'll get rid of the trash left by three earlier Linux Mint versions.
But that's NOT fun!

She/Her
SoundCloud: https://soundcloud.com/user-385492180
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC3uSQ5 ... AJkFHzReqw
SoundCloud: https://soundcloud.com/user-385492180
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC3uSQ5 ... AJkFHzReqw