6502 Carry Flag

Basic and Machine Language

Moderator: Moderators

chysn
Vic 20 Scientist

6502 Carry Flag

Post by chysn »

Like everyone else, I've got quite a bit of social distancing time these days, so I decided to spend some of it studying aspects of 6502 programming that I've always ignored.

Subject number two: The Carry Flag!

Unlike my last subject, Decimal mode, which you can safely pretend doesn't exist and still write functional programs, the Carry Flag is ubiquitous. I spent my younger days of VIC-20 programming treating the Carry Flag in a pretty cavalier manner. If my ADC results weren't what I expected, I'd work around it somehow. I'd use scattershot methods to determine whether to test the Carry Flag for >= or <= operations. In my adult incarnation as a 6502 programmer, I resolved to specifically study the Carry Flag, and to write code that puts the theory into practice.

I can't make an exhaustive post about the Carry Flag here. But there are a few important sub-topics when studying the Carry Flag.

First, know which instructions affect the Carry Flag. These fall into a few categories:

(1) Instructions that affect the Carry Flag explicitly (SEC, CLC, PLP, RTI)
(2) Instructions that shift or rotate bits (ROR, ROL, LSR, ASL)
(3) Accumulator arithmetic instructions (ADC, SBC)
(4) Comparison instructions (CMP, CPX, CPY)

As a corollary, it's also important to know what instructions do not affect the Carry Flag. The increment and decrement instructions (INC, DEY, INX, etc.) do not affect Carry, which can be unexpected. Likewise, the load instructions leave the Carry Flag alone. All of these can be tested with the Zero Flag or Negative Flag.

Second--and this is a thing that I really used to miss--study the Carry Flag's use as an input. Aside from the obvious branch (BCC, BCS) instructions, the Carry flag does a lot of things in:

(1) ROR and ROL use Carry as an input and an output
(2) ADC and SBC use Carry as an input and an output