Is this box variant rare?

History and Preservation Issues

Moderator: Moderators

Johnrh
Vic 20 Newbie

Is this box variant rare?

Post by Johnrh »

Hello,
I'm a bit new here but it seems like the best place to ask these questions. I just picked up a vic-20 from the local pawn shop for $50 and i purchased it because i had not seen this style of box before so is it rare at all? I also opened up the computer and it seems to be of early production but other than that i am a total newby here... any help is appreciated.

Have not tested it yet as my newer tv doesn't have the right connections so a direct DIN to RCA cable is in the mail and i will update if it works or not when i get it.

eslapion
ultimate expander

Re: Is this box variant rare?

Post by eslapion »

Most early VIC-20s that were made in Japan had that box.

Take a photo near the userport and see the orientation of the 6522 ICs.
Be normal.
Johnrh
Vic 20 Newbie

Post by Johnrh »

eslapion wrote:Most early VIC-20s that were made in Japan had that box.

Take a photo near the userport and see the orientation of the 6522 ICs.
I took a photo of the two that had 6522 on them, hopefully that helps. Interesting to know about the box! It was just hard to find photos of one online.
Mayhem
High Bidder

Post by Mayhem »

It's usually hard to judge exactly when the Japanese made VIC-20s were actually manufactured. As you may know, the computer was launched first in Japan as the VIC-1001 in September 1980, but wasn't out in the US until about April 1981. Judging it purely by chip dates is not possible, because the Japan factory still had stock left over from the VIC-1001 production. I have to admit, for your computer, that's far more certain because of the manufacture stamp!

The VIC-20 box here is the same art style used for the VIC-1001. The first run in the US had these boxes before swapping to the colour photo type that we are more used to seeing. Didn't apply to Europe (see below).