Why do 8K+ programs relocate their code?

Basic and Machine Language

Moderator: Moderators

D-Type
Vic 20 Drifter

Why do 8K+ programs relocate their code?

Post by D-Type »

First time poster!

I've been disassembling some old game code from a prg file for the VIC with 8K+ RAM expansion and the first thing the code does is relocate the main program to $2000 from it's initial position straight after the BASIC loader.

I asked this question why on another forum and the answer given was that you can then put custom character sets in it's place.

But it's not clear to me why would you want to do that, why wouldn't you leave the code where it is and put the character set data somewhere else in RAM?

Can anyone explain the reasoning behind it?

Warning: I'm a VIC-20 newbie, last time I had a VIC-20 was the early 80s, instead I've been hacking 6809 Forth on Vectrex for a few years.
P*h*i*l*l*i*p EEaattoon in real life
beamrider
Vic 20 Scientist

Re: Why do 8K+ programs relocate their code?

Post by beamrider »

The character set has to be located in Vic internal RAM otherwise the Vic chip can't see it.
Mike
Herr VC

Post by Mike »

You often see that relocation procedure with (BASIC) programs that need +8K RAM or more and do user defined graphics, but it is not strictly necessary. For machine code programs, it is quite easy to incorporate the character data at a place where the video chip can "see" it (as beamrider writes, it needs to be placed in the address ranges of internal RAM), and arrange the remainder of code and data around that.