Page 1 of 1

WinUAE 2.0.0

Posted: Sun Dec 13, 2009 9:35 am
by rhurst
Version 2.0 was released today at WinUAE

Posted: Sun Dec 13, 2009 10:18 am
by Boray
Thanks! Seems to work better than the version I had installed before...

Posted: Mon Dec 14, 2009 6:32 am
by Boray
Take a look:
http://user.tninet.se/~jad615g/ibrowse.jpg

I have set the CPU Idle control completely to the right which means the emulator only uses the cpu time it needs. When the amiga is idle, it only uses 0.05% of the PCs cpu.

I got the swedish keyboard working too! Om någon är intresserad så gör man följande:

På input->tangentbord:

Byt till Configuration #1

Copy from default.

Sedan skall man ha på:

ö: Semicolon
ä: Single Quote
å: Left Bracket

Posted: Mon Dec 14, 2009 6:44 pm
by rhurst
Nice Workbench! I had Amiga 2000 -> 3000 -> 3000T, and even picked up a spare 500 and 1200, before getting a 4000. All between June 1988 thru September 1997, a good 10-years!! It was an awesome time to be ahead of the curve over those lame DOS and clueless Apple users -- heh. :P

I like what they have done with the AmigaSYS project, too. I missed having my Picasso RTG board with the Magic WB running. Then pull-down the WB screen to reveal a classic Macintosh running Word and Netscape. Then pull-down that screen to reveal my BBS running Hack & Slash. Can't touch this in 1994.

Amiga days lasted longer than my VIC 20 -> C16 -> C128 days from February 1982 - June 1988. Love my 8-bits, had a huge library, but simply outgrew its programming and yearned for more.

Of course, now, there's only Linux. 8)

Posted: Mon Dec 14, 2009 7:21 pm
by English Invader
I like the Amiga 600. Small enough to fit on my coffee table and perfect for games, freeware and Easy Amos. Add a 3.1 upgrade and a hard drive and you have everything you could ever need.

I never got the hang of UAE (United Arab Emirates). The Steem Engine (Atari ST) is much more straightforward and one of the best emulators I've come across.

Posted: Mon Dec 14, 2009 7:26 pm
by PaulQ
rhurst wrote:Nice Workbench! I had Amiga 2000 -> 3000 -> 3000T, and even picked up a spare 500 and 1200, before getting a 4000. All between June 1988 thru September 1997, a good 10-years!! It was an awesome time to be ahead of the curve over those lame DOS and clueless Apple users -- heh. :P

I like what they have done with the AmigaSYS project, too. I missed having my Picasso RTG board with the Magic WB running. Then pull-down the WB screen to reveal a classic Macintosh running Word and Netscape. Then pull-down that screen to reveal my BBS running Hack & Slash. Can't touch this in 1994.

Amiga days lasted longer than my VIC 20 -> C16 -> C128 days from February 1982 - June 1988. Love my 8-bits, had a huge library, but simply outgrew its programming and yearned for more.


I echo this sentiment. My Vic and C64 ownership years lasted just over four years combined, but my Amiga 500 lasted from early '88 until late '94 (just after Commodore deep-sixed); over six solid years of Amiga goodness. It was just getting more difficult and more expensive to keep up with Amiga, and since the vastly superior OS/2 Warp came out for the PC for a great price that same year, I saw no reason to continue with Amiga.

When it comes to retro computing, I still enjoy the simplicity of the Vic 20. I find that 8 bits in general hold a stronger appeal, and I would love to see a modern take on an 8 bit computer. I think the Commodore 128 was the last 8 bit designed.

Posted: Mon Dec 14, 2009 7:51 pm
by English Invader
PaulQ wrote: I find that 8 bits in general hold a stronger appeal.


For some reason, there are a lot more type-in programs available for 8 bit computers. 16 bit freeware always came ready made on floppy disk.

Posted: Tue Dec 15, 2009 5:47 am
by Boray
Vic-20 + C64 was my main computers for almost 4 years. Amigas has been my main computers for 9 and a half year! And since then I have been using it for music (midi) now and then until now when I'm using only a PC with Vista for everything. My best amiga is an Amiga 1200 (that I bought when it came out) + 68040 40MHz... My emulated WinUAE 68040 runs at 1.24GHz!!! (according to AIBB).

Posted: Tue Dec 15, 2009 5:59 am
by Boray
Image
In this math test, my emulated amiga is around 40000 times faster than an Amiga 500. And my PCs CPU is only working at around 50% for this.

Image
Note that there are numbers that are missing as they don't fit... According to this picture http://amigatimes.wz.cz/clanky/minimig/sysinfo7.jpg , an Amiga 2000 gest 711 dhrystones, so according to my calculations, there should be a 1 in front of 823.28 and a 2 in front of 409.21 for Amiga600 etc... So my emulated amiga is 2409 times faster than an A600/A500 in this test...

Posted: Tue Dec 15, 2009 6:07 am
by Boray
According to SysInfo, my emulated 68040 is 69,48 times faster than a 25MHz 68040. That should mean that my 68040 is running at 69,84*25 = ... 1.746GHz

I'm emulating a 68040 instead of a 68060 becase that makes my amiga system to crash...

Posted: Tue Dec 15, 2009 7:29 pm
by rhurst
I don't want this to come off as some geek contest, but I tried the same tools running the new WinUAE using an Amiga 4000 profile (68040 + chipset), but running as fastest as possible, but keeping the chipset timing.

I forgot about these benchmark tools; I remember getting the 68020 expansion card for A2000 and thought it was bad-ass, until my A3000T with Picasso card. I recall having to run a tool called DEGRADER just to run 'regular' games on those more powerful workstations.

Anyways, here's my results:

Image

Image

What a screamer! :P

Posted: Wed Dec 16, 2009 4:30 am
by Boray
I got better results than you in AIBB but worse in SysInfo. Maybe because we have different versions of the programs? Or probably more likely that we have different processors. ;-) Maybe you have an Intel? I have an AMD Athlon 5200+ X2.

Posted: Wed Dec 16, 2009 6:20 pm
by Boray
Here is the same aibb screen as the one you posted:
Image
(This time I set the cpu idle control to minimum instead of maximum)

And here is the sysinfo screen from my old PentiumII 350MHz running winuae 0.8.21 r4:
Image
(AIBB didn't work...)

Posted: Wed Feb 03, 2010 8:53 am
by Boray
I just made a graph based on results from my own amiga benchmark program:
http://user.tninet.se/~pug510w/datormuseum/aa/wsmb.png

http://user.tninet.se/~pug510w/datormuseum/aa.html

To run an Amiga 500 as fast as my WinUAE, it would have to run at 6.94GHz! :shock:

Posted: Wed Feb 03, 2010 12:01 pm
by gklinger
Boray wrote:To run an Amiga 500 as fast as my WinUAE, it would have to run at 6.94GHz! :shock:

You're going to need a good heat sink for one thing...