Making a Vic20 Cart

Modding and Technical Issues

Moderator: Moderators

SparkyNZ
Vic 20 Enthusiast

Making a Vic20 Cart

Post by SparkyNZ »

I'm new to EPROM programming and the likes but I did buy some kit about 5 years ago that I rediscovered! I bought a cheap Top 853 EPROM programmer and I have a couple of dead Vic 20 cartridges. They both have ROMs (not EPROMs) inside them (e.g. MOS 901252). I was hoping I could desolder the dead ROM and fit a DIP socket so I could pop in a newly written EPROM (EEPROM?) with a test Vic cartridge image on it.

I have a couple of M27C256B EPROMs (and a UV EPROM eraser). Datasheet http://pdf.datasheetcatalog.com/datashe ... mXvtws.pdf

These have 4 extra pins (2 extra each side) compared to the 901252 cartrige ROM and they are 256k EPROMs. Would it be possible to use these EPROMs (assuming I can patch the pins accordingly) or should I go shopping for an alternative? Any recommendations would be appreciated. I realise the Vic ROMs were only about 4k or so.

Could somebody help me please?

I wouldn't even mind having a go at playing with one of those USB flash burner devices too (if I knew what chip to get) but it would be kinda cool to play with a real EPROM :)
eslapion
ultimate expander

Re: Making a Vic20 Cart

Post by eslapion »

Using 27XXX series is truly not the easiest way to go to make a VIC-20 cartridge.

Commodore was keen on using 2364 ROMs in the early 80s. This type of ROM is used in all Commodore made VIC-20 carts as well as the VIC-20 itself, the C64 and the 1540/1541 drives. The only EPROMs that are directly pin compatible are the Motorola MCM68764 and MCM68766. The 27HC641 are "semi" pin compatible and can be used with a rearrangement of the data.

If you stack a 27C256 with an adapter to make it pin compatible with the 2364 pinout then your cartridge won't fit in the cartridge port anymore, much less in a cart case.